Director's Office > Committees

External Committees

The Users Committee

The Users Committee (UC) is made up of users and potential users of NRAO facilities from throughout the scientific community. It advises the Director and the Observatory staff on all aspects of Observatory activities that affect the users of the telescopes. This committee, which is appointed by the Director, meets annually.

The current membership of the NRAO Users Committee is given below. In 2014, NRAO integrated the ALMA North American Science Advisory Committee (ANASAC) as a standing subcommittee of the Users Committee. Users Committee members who also serve on the ANASAC are indicated, as are the ANASAC representatives to the international ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC).

  • Loren Anderson, West Virginia University (2018)
  • Edo Berger, Harvard University (2021)
  • Ilse Cleeves, University of Virginia (2021)
  • Christopher De Pree, Agnes Scott College (2021) CASA UC
  • Steven Ellingson, Virginia Tech, (2018)
  • Trish Henning, University of New Mexico (2019)
  • Jin Koda, Stony Brook University (2021) ANASAC
  • Shih-Ping Lai, National Tsing-Hua University (2018) ANASAC
  • Laurent Loinard, UNAM (2021)
  • Dan Marrone, University of Arizona (2019) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Giles Novak, Northwestern University (2020) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Rachel Osten, Space Telescope Science Institute (2018) ANASAC
  • Kate Su, University of Arizona, (2021) ANASAC
  • Fabian Walter, Max Planck Inst für Astronomie (2019)
  • Stephen White, Kirtland AFB (2020) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Christine Wilson, McMaster University (2020) ANASAC/ASAC

For 2018, Fabian Walter is the Committee Chair, and Dan Marrone is the Committee Co-Chair.

The Users Committee Charge (pdf).

The NRAO Users Committee has created a web form to receive comments and suggestions from the astronomical community regarding any aspect of the Observatory’s scientific operations.

ALMA North American Science Advisory Committee

The ANASAC provides scientific advice to the NRAO director on the science operation of ALMA and the North American ALMA Science Center, as representatives of the wider North American astronomical community.

  • Jin Koda, Stony Brook University (2021)
  • Shih-Ping Lai, National Tsing-Hua University (2018)
  • Dan MarroneUniversity of Arizona (2018)
  • Giles Novak, Northwestern University (2020)
  • Rachel Osten, Space Telescope Science Institute (2018) 
  • Kate Su, University of Arizona (2021)
  • Stephen White, Kirtland AFB (2020) NA ASAC Vice-Chair
  • Christine Wilson, McMaster University (2020)

Bold = Member of ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC)

Additional information on the ANASAC can be found on-line at:


The NRAO Visiting Committee

The NRAO Visiting Committee is appointed by the AUI Board of Trustees to review the management and research programs of the Observatory. The Visiting Committee meetings are held at alternating NRAO sites. The current membership of the Committee is:

  • Rachel Akeson - Chair, IPAC/Caltech (2020)
  • Edwin (Ted) Bergin, University of Michigan (2018)
  • Katherine Blundell, Oxford University (2018)
  • James Jackson, Boston University (2020)
  • Luis Rodriguez, UNAM (2020)
  • Patricia McBride, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (2021)
  • Margaret Meixner, STSci (2020)
  • David Reitze, LIGO Laboratory (2021)
  • Greg Taylor, University of New Mexico (2018)
  • Dan Werthimer, University of California, Berkeley (2018)
  • Belinda Wilkes, Chandra X-ray Center (2021)

The Visiting Committee Charge (pdf).