Director's Office > Committees

External Committees

ALMA North American Science Advisory Committee

The ANASAC provides scientific advice to the NRAO director on the science operation of ALMA and the North American ALMA Science Center, as representatives of the wider North American astronomical community.

  • Laura Chomiuk, Michigan State University (2017)
  • Shih-Ping Lai, National Tsing-Hua University (2018)
  • Dan Marrone, University of Arizona (2018)
  • Giles Novak, Northwestern University (2020)
  • Karin Öberg, Harvard-Smithsonian CfA (2018) ANASAC Chair
  • Rachel Osten, STScI (2018) ASAC Vice Chair/NA
  • Douglas Scott, University of British Columbia (2017)
  • Stephen White, AFRL/Space Vehicles (2020)
  • Christine Wilson, McMaster University (2020)

Bold = Member of ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC)

The Users Committee

The Users Committee (UC) is made up of users and potential users of NRAO facilities from throughout the scientific community. It advises the Director and the Observatory staff on all aspects of Observatory activities that affect the users of the telescopes. This committee, which is appointed by the Director, meets annually.

The current membership of the NRAO Users Committee is given below. In 2014, NRAO integrated the ALMA North American Science Advisory Committee (ANASAC) as a standing subcommittee of the Users Committee. Users Committee members who also serve on the ANASAC are indicated, as are the ANASAC representatives to the international ALMA Science Advisory Committee (ASAC).

  • Loren Anderson, West Virginia University (2018)
  • Shami Chatterjee, Cornell University (2017)
  • Laura Chomiuk, Michigan State University (2017) ANASAC
  • Steven Ellingson, Virginia Tech, (2018)
  • Rachel Friesen, University of Toronto (2018)
  • Trish Henning, University of New Mexico (2019)
  • Shih-Ping Lai, National Tsing-Hua University (2018) ANASAC
  • Joseph Lazio, JPL/CIT (2017)
  • Dan Marrone, University of Arizona (2018) ANASAC
  • Giles Novak, Northwestern University (2020) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Karin Öberg, Harvard-Smithsonian CfA (2018) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Rachel Osten, Space Telescope Science Institute (2018) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Douglas Scott, University of British Columbia (2017) ANASAC
  • Fabian Walter, Max Planck Inst für Astronomie (2019)
  • Stephen White, AFRL/Space Vehicles (2020) ANASAC/ASAC
  • Christine Wilson, McMaster University (2020) ANASAC/ASAC

For 2017, Loren Anderson is the Committee Chair, with Fabian Walter as the Co-Chair.

Download The Users Committee Charge (pdf).

The NRAO Users Committee has created a web form to receive comments and suggestions from the astronomical community regarding any aspect of the Observatory’s scientific operations.

The NRAO Visiting Committee

The NRAO Visiting Committee is appointed by the AUI Board of Trustees to review the management and research programs of the Observatory. The Visiting Committee meetings are held at alternating NRAO sites. The current membership of the Committee is:

  • Rachel Akeson, IPAC/Caltech (2020)
  • Edwin (Ted) Bergin, University of Michigan (2018)
  • Katherine Blundell, Oxford University (2018)
  • Xiaoyu Hong, Shanghai Astronomical Observatory (2016)
  • James Jackson, Boston University (2020)
  • Luis Rodriguez, UNAM (2020)
  • Ryohei Kawabe, Nobeyama Radio Observatory (2016)
  • Malcolm Longair, University of Cambridge (2016)
  • Margaret Meixner, STSci (2020)
  • Greg Taylor, University of New Mexico (2018)
  • Dan Werthimer, University of California, Berkeley (2018)

Edwin Bergin is the current Committee Chair.